RSS Feed

A quick scrub makes all the difference!

Posted on

Dear Trusted Friends,

Deepest thanks for your heartfelt enquiries regarding Ethel’s french verb endings and for offering tuition, so kind, however she has rather lost interest in the language of love since the inspiration for her new hobby (Seth’s new friend and assistant groundsman, Pierre, who was so fabulous at choosing curtains) has turned his attention to designing Seth a winter spade cover (more on this next week!) and has quite lost interest in their weekly sessions, poor old thing. She convinced herself it was because all she could say was “J’adore le mopping”, but I think it may have been her new house coat, the static from nylon is terribly distracting. In fact he and Seth have been spending an awful lot of time together recently in the raised vegetable beds, so sweet! So enchanted they rub along so well together – one cannot underestimate the importance of staff cohesion.

Scrubtastic!

On to business, I’m rather excited about sharing two wonderful tips for households with you this week, the first one is – scourers. As you may be aware by now, I only have Ethel to help me run the Manor and she is terribly busy this week polishing the stuffed pikes, so I have decided to do my bit. Anyway, I trekked all the way over to the guest bathroom in the yellow room on the south wing, musing over how to coordinate the tea towels on the aga, and clean forgot to bring any cleaning soaps with me! To this end, I was forced to begin the task with only a scourer – but dear readers, would you believe, it brought everything up in a gleaming shine! Limescale? Gone! Soap remnants? Gone! A wonder! It was a dream (well a dream Ethel may have). Giddy with excitement, I decided to have a go at the floorboards too, again, came up a treat, although I think I may have taken off the varnish as well. So please do pass onto your maid – or indeed have a go yourself if you’re at a loose end.

Look at the difference it made in Ethel’s room!

Blanket coverage

The only other quickie I wanted to share was a fun little idea I had around tartan – instead of hiding all those wonderful, warm picnic blankets away until Summer, why not use them as a table cover? A lovely wintery, cosy look! Lord S did complain of itchy arms at breakfast though this morning so you might want to wear sleeves when eating. 

Atmospheric table covering

Must dash, I’m simply gasping for a nip of sherry to keep the chill off!
Toodles
Lady W x

About Mrs W-M

My Great Aunt Florence always used to say "Child, I find it's always terribly useful to have a confidant in life" and I have tried to live my life by this invaluable advice. Consequently, I have turned the friends I know and those whom I've yet to know, to be my closest chums and share not only my troubles and tribulations and also household tips I think maybe useful to pass on.

Leave a comment